Some countries today have passed laws against smoking tobacco in public buildings such as offices and restaurants. What are the advantages and disadvantages?

A constitution to terminate smoking, especially in such public place as offices and restaurants, has been enacted by some countries. This essay thus will describe some potential benefits and drawbacks of this phenomenon.

Regarding the advantages, one main point is that the time for active smoker to smoke would report a considerable decrease as the way to regain health. This is because terminating smoking in such place as office indirectly encourage smoker to limit their amount of time to smoke at least in this place. Furthermore, it is certain that the ban of smoking in such public places as restaurant would be beneficial for providing healthy environment especially for passive smoker. This means that the ban could prevent secondhand smoke and air pollution to be inhaled by other costumers in free air. In another word, lawful as smoking has been for entitlement, this activity should not be for forfeiting others’ human rights as non-smoker.

Turning to the disadvantages, it is apparent that banning smoking on public will pose some economic problems. One of those is the increasing number of unemployment. To describe, cigarette companies will wisely decide to dismiss their employees, if they economically declare bankrupt due to some trouble related to market share as an impact of reducing the number of tobacco smokers. In addition, this ban will further reduce the national income, especially for the tobacco-producing countries, which can be seen on agricultural and industrial sectors. This happens when the profit taxes from commercial-farming and industrial activities of tobacco fall down as well as a decrease in the level of producing and marketing cigarette.

Overall, it is reasonable to conclude that terminating smoking in public offers some health benefits for both active and passive smoker. Still, there will be some major drawbacks in economic sector that should be concerned.