Some people believe that a person’s intelligence is inherited from the parents, while others believe that their environment is the main factor. Discuss these views. Which factor do you think is mostly responsible for intelligence?

There are the different agreements amongst people whether heritability or environment would be responsible for human intelligence. This essay will debate both points of view with some plausible reason and most significant factor that I prefer to conclude.

On the one hand, supporters of parental intelligence highlight that people who are intelligent tend to have intelligent offspring. Since research has discovered that most of cognitive abilities depend on the X-chromosome which belongs to mother twice as that in father, this gene which has been inherited from parents will provide instruction to construct brain and nervous system to influence offspring’s brainpower. Moreover, mother plays a big role in the uterus adaptation during pregnancy. For example, if intelligent mother previously spent time reading books as her leisure activity, without any negative sense, she would indirectly introduce academic cognition with a sense of pleasure to her unborn child.

On the other hand, supporters of environmental factors would emphasize that where individuals live in is a significant influence to their intelligence. For instance, people living in the city would normally have more problem-solving abilities and social cognition compared to those in the village. The reason is that they have to frequently deal with many complex problems in the city, such as traffic congestion, over pollution, communicate successfully with multicultural society. Furthermore, quality and quantity of learning in the school as a part of individual’s environment would also encourage young persons to gain cognitive abilities. This is possible since comprehensive learning, one of the methods in the school to master relation among distinct subjects, has assisted students to possess multi-ability to face dynamic situation.

In conclusion, I am certain that intelligent persons are mostly influenced by their environment especially in the school, meaning that offspring’s intelligence is dependent on the way school provides curriculum to widen student’s insight.