In some countries, young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies.

Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this

Nowadays, working or traveling for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies tends to be more and more popular for young people in some countries. However, I strongly believe that this trend would bring both benefits and drawbacks.

On the hand one, young people can take huge advantages of working or traveling for a year. Firstly, young people can have more time to rested and release stress after a period of studying tired and stress. Especially, high school graduation exam time is a hard of the period for the students who have to spend all time studying. Secondly, taking such a break can help students have time to live near family and bonding family feelings. For example, they can travel to many places or work together during that period and young people can learn numerous things and get various good advice from family. One more important thing, Working or traveling for a period of time before starting university studies is a good conditional to prepare for a new study environment. In fact, the study environment in high school and the university is very different so need to prepare carefully before starting university studies to avoid shock as easily better adapt.

One the other hand, there are several disadvantages of deciding to do it. First of all, spending time to work or travel before starting university studies will make students enroll later than our friends, so that can lead to later graduating from university and looking for job opportunities later than our peers. Second, It will make the students lose motivation to study or just focus to make money and neglect our main goal. For instance, having a break time period long will lead create laziness for students, It is also about losing motivation to learn and making them just enjoy playing and lose interest in learning. Besides, spend time working can also make them like to study anymore but just like to make money.

To sum up, there are both benefits and drawbacks of or working or traveling for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. I hold a firm belief that young people beings had better learn how to maximize the advantages also minimize the disadvantages.