In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decided to do it.

Nowadays, more and more students are concerned about that what they should do after high-school graduation. However, whether students should take a year off for travelling or continuing enrolling a university is a dilemma. My view is that travelling during one year is superior to taking higher education immediately.

On the one hand, students who spend a year visiting to a different country or working could suffer from various problems. The first drawback is that language barriers, which makes sense people are not easy to understand what others try to deliver. It is unavoidable that this difficulty will bring them depression and stress. The second limitation is that if they did not have academic qualifications, they would not be able to seek for a satisfactory jobs for themselves. For example, students who have just graduated from high school are hired with low paying rate. Therefore, not studying at the university does not have any stability as well as promotions for students in their later career.

On the other hand, I believe that taking a year off is much more beneficial to students. Firstly, when students move to another country that is a great opportunity for them to experience various cultures. It means travelling or working allows them to explore different ways of living that helps them to see the world from different perspectives. Additionally, spending a year working or travelling helps students to become not only confident but also independent. More specifically, living alone requires them to know how to take of themselves without the help of relatives.

In conclusion, although taking a gap year for travelling or working may have some disadvantages related to language problems or unsatisfactory jobs, I think this experience can bring them both new explorations and independence.