Nowaday, the trend of young people taking a year off school to work or travel is quite common in some countries. This is quite controversial in society, but we have to admit that taking a year off to work or travel has certain advantages and disadvantages, not inclined to either side. The benefits are that we should pursue what we want and expand our knowledge. However, besides the advantage, going to work or studying abroad should also be detrimental to us as it costs us time and money, and when going back to study, so we would face many difficulties. Taking a year off to go to work or travel has certain advantages and disadvantages, not inclined to either side.

First, the development of knowledge by learning more foreign languages, and social communication skills from the outside is very necessary for students. This should make students have more practical, mature experiences, and we would have time to learn more deeply about our orientations. This should help us better prepare for school to achieve good results in the future when going to school and work. Some of my friends have taken a year off from school to work and improve their foreign languages, they told me that going to work makes them better understand school subjects to use in practice.

Second, besides the benefits, the disadvantages of taking a year off also cause a lot of problems when going back to school. Secondly, besides the benefits, the disadvantages of taking a year off also cause a lot of trouble when going back to school. These problems are that it is difficult for young people to adapt to the academic environment because they think that doing practical things is more interesting when earning money and being able to earn luxuries. Statistics in the US show that more than 70% of students leave school a year after returning to school because they feel no longer as excited as before. Moreover, a year's absence from school will waste our time if we do not have a clear plan.

Overall, it is clear that while there are a few benefits to encouraging young people to work or travel, the disadvantages are also worrisome. Therefore, I think young people should listen to themselves more to make the right decisions.