In some coutries, many more people are choosing to live alone nowadays than in the past. Do you think this is a positive or negative development ?

In recent year, there has been a considerable rise in the number of people who decide to live alone, especially in large metropolis in developed world. From my perspective, this trend can be seen as a positive development owing to its great benefits on personal and broader economic scale.

The rise in one-person household can firstly have a huge impact on an individual level. People who choose to live alone may become more independent and self-reliant than those who live with other members of family. Take the experience of my elder brother when he chose to move out and live alone in his first year at university. During this period, he has learned how to cook, clean, pay the bills, and manage his own budget, all of which are valuable life skills. The rise in the number of such individuals like my brother can certainly be seen as positive.

Another big advantages of the trend towards living alone are the economic reasons. In particular, when there are many more people choosing to live alone, the demand for housing, estate agents, and a wide range of other products and services will also increase. This is likely to benefit the businesses which rely on homeowners and boost the economy of locals, through consumption and construction activites. For instance, according to a study of Hanoi National University on the its students living in single-bed household in 2014, the demand of these students for rents and convenient food has almost doubled compared to those who live with flatmates or family.

In conclusion, the acquistion of important life skills and the benefits for local economy are the key reasons for the trend towards living alone. Despite having some negative effects, it is agreed that they are outweight by the benefits.