In some cultures, children are often told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.

What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?

Nowadays children are taught to study hard to achieve goals they set. In several nations, they are suggested to work hard in order to obtain everything they want. I believe that there are both advantages and disadvantages of this method.

To nurture their children, parents might apply a number of approaches. First benefit could be its contribution to the improvement the sense of independence of their offspring. For instance, if children perform their tasks in trial and error, they, without doubt, would find a way to accomplish it successfully. Moreover, they commence to value the results they obtained which is attributed to be grown up with good nurture. Therefore, parents would be less worried about the behavior of their children as they attempt to achieve their goals without parental intervention. Another advantage could be that in addition to hardworking, children would go above and beyond.

Conversely, applying such method might lead to unintended consequences. By pushing children to work hard may make them feel depressed even if their targets are achievable. For instance, constantly pushed youngsters would have insufficient spare time for entertainment which is important in their development. Hard-working may require an independent performance that children may not be able to obtain support from their relatives which makes them feel loneliness. There is no evidence that by trying hard anything could be obtained at once, and therefore, several failures would, for sure, have adverse impact on their self-confidence.

In conclusion, although there are benefits of conveying messages to children about trying hard, parents ought not to push them to avoid psychological problems of their children. I believe that moral supports by relatives would definitely contributes to greatest results of children.