In some cultures, children are told that they can achieve anything if they try hard enough.
What are the advantages and disadvantages of giving children this message?
In few countries, it is a common practice to educate children that any goal can be
achieved through toil and labor. Although, there are definitely facts undermining this issue,
I still think it is a useful practice for yielding resilient generations.
Most common argument against this act is that hard work usually do not constitute
the whole picture. Instead, income of the parents, race and sex of the individual, societal
and political conditions they live in and many other factors can be evident contributors to
one’s success. For example, although popular wealthy people such as Elon Musk, Jeff
Bezos and Bill Gates are hailed as self-made billionaires, all of them had robust financial
backing from either their parents, or inherited assets, making risky business decisions
much less perilous.
On the other hand, it is important to consider the motivational factor this
encouragement has for the younger generation. In the rapidly advancing and competitive
economy and job market one has to improve their skills and faculties incessantly, which is
exactly what the saying advises. Personally, in my younger years belief of meritocracy
instilled in me by my parents and educators was a major reason propelling me forward.
And although now I am much more familiar with the less positive realities of life, still
relatively high chance of being rewarded for my hard work is a motivating factor in my
education.
Overall, despite many criticisms against it, I believe instilling children with the belief
that they can accomplish any task is overall a positive endorsement and will be beneficial
through their lives.