Some educationalists say that every child should be taught how to play a musical instrument. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

I believe that all that is learnt in the cradle lasts till the grave. I strongly agree that when the skill of an musical instrument is taught to children, they can use it at a certain point in their life.

The future is unpredictable. With the world changing constantly the skills that a young adult learns, can be a blessing in disguise for them. Moreover, education never goes to waste. All that is required is that support from their parents to pursue their desired musical instrument. For Instance, My mother's cousin who currently lives in US, learnt his Piano lessons in Madurai. This skill has got him fame to the extent that he is widely recognised among his colleagues as he represented his company on multiple occasion.

It is only when a person experiences music in a level where it is created, will they be able to recognise their true interest. The only negative aspect to taking up a particular instrument would be that he might be interested in a different one, which is not wrong. Education Board should consider children's future and implement such curriculum to facilitate imparting such knowledge to them. In the present times, there are many kids who take up such classes in the evening. This shows that parents are willing to expand the horizon of their kids. For example, Chettinad school in Chennai had initiated one such program where kids can learn an instrument.

The education board lays down various rules for schools and colleges to follow. They need to implement such rules for schools to educate the future generation with the skill.