Some educationalists think that international exchange visits will benefit teenagers at the school. To what extent do the advantages outweight the disadvantages.

Nowadays, international exchange visits have become increasingly popular. Some educational specialists believe that these visits will benefit the young people at schools. Although being abroad for an exchange program might cost teenagers and expose them to unwanted behaviors, it helps adolescents extend their horizons and enrich their personality development. In my opinion, the advantages surpass the disadvantages.

On the one hand, there are some drawbacks for teenage students while participating in international exchange visits. Firstly, those programs could burden their financial status since they may be expensive and require several expenses. Secondly, young students are easily affected by their surroundings, resulted in learning some behaviors which might be undesired in their cultures and traditions. For example, a study suggests that 50% of teenagers, who have been in exchange visits, have been wrongly affected during their journey. Consequently, there are possible reasons why such visits are considered disadvantageous.

On the other hand, many significant advantages could be acquired from international exchange visits. Being overseas in a foreign country could help and encourage high school students to broaden their knowledge as well as learn about different cultures and languages. Moreover, students will acquire some beneficial personal skills by getting to know different individuals from various backgrounds. This would enhance both their personality and communication skills. For instance, a major company in Canada suggests that productive employees are those who have more experience and have been exposed to different cultures. Therefore, exchange visits are quite essential for building a good personality that helps students in their future careers.

In conclusion, educationalists think that international exchange visits are beneficial for teenagers. Even though there are some disadvantages, I believe that being a part of such programs is more advantageous.