Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all times, even on holidays. Does this development have more disadvantages than advantages?

It is true that in today's competitive world, some employees are expected to be readily accessible at the moment, whether they are at working days or not. While I accept that this trend may partly benefit both individuals and companies, I believe that its disadvantages outweigh the advantages.

On the one hand, continual communication between people belonging to a teamwork can bring them some benefits. In fact, the more workers concentrate on their responsibilities, the more company is able to achieve its goals to be prosperous. As a result, in a dynamic system, employees can also earn a profit. For instance, I can remember when I was Marketing Development expert at SBR Company, I was paid a premium, up to more than the salary, if I would spend extra time and energy, particularly in order to preparing the tender documents in a limited time. In addition, this subject could be beneficial for beginners earning minimum wage to learn required skill and even get a promotion sooner than expected.

However, I would argue that this habit is more likely to have harmful impacts. Firstly, it will be a living proof of invasion of privacy provided that employers expect their staff to in touch out of their working hours. All people have this right to allocate their free time on what they prefer, such as family gathering or going to vacation just to name, otherwise they may face family problems. Secondly, working overtime can lead to serious physical and mental illnesses preventing workers to enjoy their life or earning living. Finally, not having adequate entertainment, employees are prone to get exhausted and hence unproductive. Consequently, the company's efficiency will be decreased in the near future.

In conclusion, it seems to me that the potential drawbacks of being involved in work constantly are more significant than the possible benefits.