Some employers want to be able to contact their staff at all time, even on holidays, Does this development have more advantages than disadvantages.

Few employers feel that people working under them should be available to discuss business every time, irrespective of their working hours. However, this attitude of employers outweighs the disadvantages over advantages. Issues and benefits of this will be addressed in this essay.

People as students dedicate most of their time studying hard with an expectation of a better future: Having an enjoyable life by spending their earnings. Hence, robbing every moment of an employee, by the company is nowhere logical. This idea of employers, have many disadvantages to offer to the society.

Firstly, working continuously leads to exhaustion and creates tension. Workers might not be able to process their thoughts efficiently and bring out best ideas when called in the middle of something. Therefore, it is wastage of resources and time of both employee as well as employer. Secondly, disturbances in personal life won’t be welcomed by most employees unless they are workaholic, thereby forcing them to quit job and look for better opportunities that will help them to keep up balance between personal and professional life. Thirdly, it is bane for the employer too. Relying on one person completely indicates inefficiency of the boss and other staff to carry-out the duty. This might instil sense of pride in the employee’s brain, making him arrogant towards colleagues. Finally, an employer does not and cannot buy entire time of their workers thus, depriving them of social status. A case in point, a person attending a family function won’t be hailed if he is on phone throughout the function but will be trolled for not being social, ultimately ruining their personal relations.

In contrast to this, it might be necessary sometimes to take opinion of the worker and hence a call, once in a while is acceptable, especially, if the employee is senior most person in the department. Otherwise, disadvantages are higher than the advantages.

To summarize, employers should not deprive their employees of the quality time they deserve spending on themselves and work should not be carried beyond working hours.