Some experts believe that it is better for children to begin learning a foreign language at primary school rather than secondary school. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

in the age of globalization, most schools will encourage students to study a foreign language at the early stage of life, this will help them achieve success easier in the future compared to the peers. Some experts believe that children should start learning a second language at the primary level rather than at the higher one. In my opinion, initiating new language early does bring more merits than demerits.

First of all, learning a language at primary age has some disadvantages which affect children's study of other crucial subjects including maths, science, mother tongue. At the early stage of life, it seems that those compulsory subjects are more important than a new language. Besides, studying a new subject will make students overwhelming due to the amount of workload. this is to say, children are going to be put under more pressure at this age group. for example, a child learning a second language will have to finish more homework than their fellows. This leads to a lack of spare time on which helps them to develop their physical growth.

Second, although there are some disadvantages of studying a second language, It is undeniable that studying a language besides the mother tongue does bring about more advantages for the future. At the first stages of children's development, the brain is capable of obtaining and learning quickly. Children, therefore, pick up the pronunciation without shyness and absorb faster as the brain's capacity will abate with ages. Moreover, children can study a new language in various ways namely games, televisions, outdoor activities rather than just studying with traditional methods. This will reduce the amount of stress and make them involved in lessons.

In conclusion, learning a new language is the need of the globalization process, which if started early is more effective in the young and less time-consuming to achieve excellence in it. However, an acceptable amount of workload must be considered for the comprehensive growth in all aspects.