Some may believe that more academic subjects, such as chemistry, physics and history should be taught in schools, while others believe that students will derive more benefit from studying practical subjects, such as motor mechanics and cooking. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

It is argued students ought to be taught with more compulsory subjects, such as mathematics and science while others think subjects that are more practical, such as cooking and motor mechanics should be given more priorities. It is agreed that educational institutions should prefer to teach more functional subjects to compulsory subjects. This essay will first discuss the increase chances of top jobs after studying academic subjects and then discuss of being hired easily when chosen practical courses, before coming to a reasoned conclusion.

There is ample evidence to suggest that academic subjects secure high paid jobs because the demand for these subjects continues to rise. In other words, when people persuade their career in these basic subjects, the chance of working in top companies increases and they can be renowned as well. For instance, a 2014 study conducted by Cambridge University found that almost 80% graduated students in basic subjects are immediately given employment in prestigious offices. Therefore, it is clear that academic subjects should continue to be focused, as its future is very rewarding.

However, it must not be forgotten about the increasing demand for practical subjects in today’s world as the world has transformed totally. This means that people having practical skills are gaining more opportunity to find jobs easily with fewer obstacles, compared to highly-skilled jobs. For example, a survey done by the UK government showed that the vacancy of chefs is the highest, with the increasing number of restaurants in the UK. Thus, it is evident that people with practical skills can land on jobs quickly, tempting people to study these subjects.

In conclusion, practical subjects should be given more preference in schools, while many feel that teachers should still concentrate on teaching basic courses. Although compulsory subjects can secure top-positioned jobs, I believe the school should give more priority to optional subjects as it provides the easy finding of employment in this competitive world.