Some people believe that employees should stay in the same job for the rest of their lives. Others think they should switch jobs, at least once during their work life.

To what extent do you agree / disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Undoubtedly, the issues of employment has grown in importance since the living expenses had risen considerably around the world. Observing the rapid growth in the rate of unemployment, it has been suggested that it is practical to change jobs. I strongly agree with this affirmation for two reasons, firstly to overcome the poverty, and secondly to reduce the risk of being jobless.

Firstly, despite the high rate of unemployment, people nowadays make a living from switching jobs. This is due to the fact that by sticking with the same job, people might not able to support their families in the long run. For instance, a recent study in developing countries showed that 75 out of 100 families on government service changed their job to private companies, where they paid with high salary with the same skills. Therefore, it is not only essential but also practical to change working place to overcome the financial crisis.

Secondly, as the technology is replacing humans in working place, employee are at a great risk of redundancy. However, people who change their jobs frequently may not experience such danger. The reason behind this is that the more employee switch their job the more they will master the new job skill, and therefore they do not have to face the burden of unemployment. For example, a survey conducted by the Human Resources department in the UK concluded that candidate having two or more different work experience is not deprived of a job compared with those with less skills. As a consequence, the frequent change in jobs ensures the job stability.

To conclude, it is clear that if people change their jobs, they will not have to fear of being redundancy and financial crisis. This is mainly because of developing new skills and getting high salary. Therefore, I strongly believe in both of these notions.