Some people believe that employees should stay in the same job for the rest of their lives. Others think they should switch jobs at least once during their career. To what extent do you agree/disagree? Partially agree with both views

Opinions are divided on whether or not people should remain in the same job forever. Although it can be assumed that high-skilled professionals tend to stay in the same jobs, I agree that if people want to expand their professional experience and develop new skills they should change jobs even if just once during their career. In this essay, the main reasons for staying in certain jobs and the advantages of changing professions will be discussed.

It is true that in some professions the most certain decision is to pursue a career always doing the same type of job. This is because highly skilled workers such as doctors, pharmacists or lawyers invested a great amount of time and money to get qualified in a specific profession and consequently they are unlikely to opt for another professional path. For example, a student that aims to become a doctor has to spend at least six years at the university which involves an enormous commitment in studying several subjects related to the human body, diseases and medicines not to mention the fact that they have to pay for housing, food and education fees. For these reasons, it is totally understandable that some professionals tend to stay in the same job forever as the effort to qualify was immense.

However, in professions that do not require specific qualifications employees that move to another job are likely to benefit in terms of experience and better income. This means that workers that change jobs develop skills that are related to a specific workplace and consequently their work experience and capacity to adapt to different work environments is greatly boosted. As for employees’ financial status, when changing to another career they are likely to benefit from better opportunities that pay higher salaries as a consequence of their broader work experience. For instance, recent studies have suggested that most of the recruiters prefer candidates with vast experience regardless of their qualifications because despite being more expensive employees, they are likely to contribute the most to the success of the company they work for. Therefore, many employees gain an advantage when moving to another career.

In summary, while in some careers employees are more likely to remain in the same job, I believe that in several professions employees are highly benefited when they move to another job.