Some people think that having people from different nationalities and cultural backgrounds living together in the same country makes the country develop faster. Do you agree?

Opinions are divided on whether immigrants lead to quicker progress of a host country. I totally agree that individuals from different nations and cultural backgrounds can make a country develop faster as they are likely to help to solve workforce and innovation issues that can compromise the progress of a nation.

Firstly, immigrants can help to overcome a lack of workforce in a host country. For instance, after the second world war, the UK relied on a massive number of immigrants to rebuild the country showing how important overseas workers were to recover the British economy in a record period. Also, the deep shortages of nurses that are currently seen in the same country have highlighted the necessity to recruit international qualified nurses to assure that the national health service continues to respond to the various challenges in the healthcare sector. The same applies to Germany, which is in urgent need for engineers and health professionals which are vital to the country's economy and human development. Therefore, it can be argued that without immigrants a significant number of countries would see their progress compromised.

Furthermore, having people from different cultures can lead to quicker innovation and consequently faster progress. Most nations tend to develop more in certain fields as a result of their culture and mindset. As a result, this fact is likely to benefit countries that receive multi-skilled international workers because these bring their ideas, expertise and experience and so there is no need to invest time and money to train for a skilled workforce. For example, the sense of leadership amongst the Chinese population has made this one of the most advanced societies in high-technology manufacturing. On the other hand, nations such as Denmark and Sweden have always shown concern about the environment and so they are leaders in the usage of green energy. Consequently, a nation that receives both nationals is likely to benefit in terms of technological and sustainable innovation in a much quicker way as the ideas and methods have already been developed.

In summary, I completely agree that people from different nationalities and cultural backgrounds living in the same country play an important role for a faster nation’s progress not only because they meet skill shortages but also because they bring ideas and techniques which are vital to innovation and progress.