Some people think that having people from different nationalities and cultural backgrounds living together in the same country makes the country develop faster. Do you agree?

Throughout history, leaders of a nation would be debating between themselves if having people from different cultures living together is a good thing. Even wars were waged over a country’s cultural and nationality demographics. Some countries do not encourage different cultures on their people, while some other countries encourage them. It is a good question and I think nationality and cultural diversification help a country’s development.

Since the oldest days of human civilization, different nations were learning from eachother. For example, ancient Greek philosophers and mathematicians travelled the world to broaden their views and learn new things. It is no coincidence that democratic ancient Greece was the most powerful civilization in their respected era. Even today, most of the developed western world strives to ancient Greeks’ democratic system. We also have an example of the USA. Three hundred years ago, a lot of people from different culture and nationality backgrounds came to live together on North American continent. In a relatively short amount of time, they built the powerful nation we know today. Although the people of the USA had some racial issues, over time they accepted the fact that everyone should be respected equally and have equal rights. Today, there are even more cultures mixed together in the USA.

However, there are people who will hate any newcomers to their country because of made up stereotypes and prejudices. They claim immigrants will bring crime and instability to their nation. To some extent I agree, but those problems are not unsolvable.Moreover, their nation will benefit much more in the long run.

Overall, I think mix of different cultures and traditions enrich peoples’ minds. We can see, on various examples, that it does help country’s growth. Furthermore, governments should emphasize on diversification and try to reduce existing hate between different types of communities in their states.