Some organisations believe that their employees should dress smartly. Others value quality of work above appearance.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

There are some opinions that smart dressing is something that many employees should have, whereas others believe that work efficiency is more essential than appearance. This essay will examine both discussions in greater detail.

On the one hand, company staff dress elegantly and that will bring them several benefits. Firstly, good appearance will have a strong impression on their customers. For instance, some people opine that the employees who wear suits or shirts at the workplace seem to be more professional and trustworthy than those who dress casually. In addition, they can create a good image and that is advantageous for them to compete with rival companies. Thus, the consumers are attracted more easily by these organisations than those without the uniform dress of the employees. Obviously, outfit influences the decisions of customers. As a result, many companies encourage their staff, especially the sellers, to dress more elegantly.

On the other hand, even though appearance will bring companies certain benefits, high productivity is the core factor for the growth of every organisation. A skillful employee can do the jobs and solve the problems efficiently and the directors also do not need to train their workers, which wastes too much time and spends a huge amount of money in their budget. Many organisations nowadays tend to hire experienced workers and they understand that increasing productivity will lead to better profits. It is undeniable that working efficiency contributes greatly to the development of the companies.

From my point of view, employees should not only dress appropriately but also focus on improving their working performance. However, the quality of work needs to be prioritised in the companies.

In conclusion, both appearance and quality of work bring the organisations various advantages. But productivity is more essential because of its greater profits, which sustains one's business.