Some parents believe that learning mathematics at school is redundant and sould not be taught while others believe that it should remain a foundational subject whether or not it is used later in life.

Discuss both sides

Learning mathematics at school has become a controversial issue among parents. While many of the parents support the importance of mathematics in the later life, other parents believe that it is no longer relevant. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument in-depth.

There are number of parents who believe that mathematics is no longer important in schools as a subject as it is not much useful in the future of their children. They strongly believe that technological developments can help the people to manage any complicated level of problems within a fraction of a second without much thought. For instance, statistical calculation or any addition or subtraction can be done in computer or calculators today. Thus most of the parents are on the opinion that studying mathematics in schools is less relevant.

But many parents are on the opinion that mathematics should remain as a basic subject in the schools, as it helps people to do daily calculations like addition and subtraction. In addition, which can help the people to manage some situation when they deal with money of financial dealings in the future. For instance, if a person who needs to add some money in his bank account, and he is unaware about the terms and calculations such as interest rates, will leads to confusion even if they are calculations in their mobile phones. To achieve these skills, parents still support the importance of mathematics in the school curriculum.

In conclusion, whether or not to include mathematics in school curriculum become a heated debate among parents nowadays.Although many parents think that mathematics is not an important subject to taught as it is already outdated, other parents still believe its importance in the later life. This essay discussed the reasons why many parents have different believe in their views on whether mathematics should remain as a subject in the school syllabus or not.