In some parts of the world it is becoming popular to research the history of one's
own family. Why might people want to do this? Is it a positive or negative
development?
In several countries, many people are increasingly conducting research regarding
the origins of their own family. There are a number of reasons why this trend
happens, and I believe it is a negative tendency.
To begin with, there are some reasons why individuals are interested in
discovering their family's history. The first clear reason is that these people are
just curious about who their ancestors were and what role they played in society.
For example, it might be interesting to find out that one's great-grandfather was
once a member of the royal family. This kind of information can make people
become proud of their origins. Additionally, many people research about their
family's history as this activity can serve medical purposes. For instance, they
would be aware of any disease that they inherit from their relatives.
However, I would argue that this tendency is negative because of some reasons.
Firstly, as this trend does not bring about significant benefits apart from those
related to health care, it can be considered a waste of time and money, especially
for young individuals. In my opinion, it would better for them to focus their
resources on more important things such as improving their social skills. Secondly,
the information on the history of one's family may have adverse effects on their
attitude in life. To illustrate, a person with a noble origin may become arrogant,
while someone who is a descendant of a criminal might be ashamed and lose his
confidence.
In conclusion, researching one's own origins is becoming more common in
society, and I believe this is a negative development.