In some parts of the world, the popularity of taking a personal DNA is increasing. Why do some people want to do this? Is this development positive or negative?

The development of technology has revolutionized many aspects of people’s lives, particularly medicine. Thanks to technology, taking a sample of one’s DNA for analysis purposes has become popular in some countries. While there are a number of reasons why this is the case, on the whole, I believe that this is a positive change.

To begin with the reasons for the popularity of DNA testing, the major one is perhaps its help in medical diagnoses. In the event that symptoms do not give any clues about the nature of an illness, thus making it difficult to diagnose a patient correctly, taking a personal DNA will be of great help for a more thorough investigation. Another area of DNA testing’s use is in people’s personal lives. In some instances, people have doubts about their or their children’s background. DNA testing, meanwhile, allows to compare genes and provide conclusions with almost perfect accuracy.

In my view, conducting DNA testing is a change for the better. First and foremost, if we can draw accurate conclusions about illnesses, their treatment is highly likely to be successful. Were it not for DNA tests, we would probably be unable to see breakthroughs in such areas of medicine as biotechnology and cure diseases like IVF or infertility. I am also optimistic about this test’s future prospects. Genetics is one of the fastest developing, yet complex, fields of medicine currently. So, more research with the use of DNA testing could one day allow us to find solutions or vaccines to incurable illnesses, such as cancer, or at least make us more knowledgeable.

In conclusion, DNA testing has recently gained in wide popularity in some parts of the world due mainly to medical as well as personal reasons. So far, this kind of testing helped us find remedies to some illnesses, and in the future, if this trend continues to help humanity, then I have no reason to argue that is an undesirable development.