In some parts of the world, traditional festivals and celebrations have disappeared or are disappearing. Why is this happening? What measures could be taken to ensure they do not disappear?

It is undoubtedly that ancient rituals and traditional mores, sadly, more and more wipe out over time in some nations of the world. There are several causes and considerable solutions of this phenomenon which I will be deliberated more below.

Regarding the causes, the rapid modernisation might negatively influence the existence of various diverse cultures in terms of flourishing globalisation. Unlike the earlier time, current people celebrate cultural performances with the help of modern technology, eventually disappearing the sacredness of rituals. Venice Carnival — the elaborate masquerades and costumes — has been evolving into truly extraordinary of its splendour, lighting and sound designs. Furthermore, growing urbanisation impels native inhabitants to unconsciously embody with foreigners’ habits. In relation to acculturation process, non-native people may both dominate its population and its local events. Seemingly, civil society prefers to spend big-budget to attend foreign celebrations, continuously exacerbating cultural genocide as stated by Cambridge University Press.

Turning to the solutions, local authorities are supposed to regulate digital industries to revitalise preservative cultural practices ensuring that they turn to paramount heritage value in the realm of social media these days. TikTok and Instagram, for instance, engage users more in creating indigenous creative contents, thus, lifting up the presence of ethnic uniqueness. In addition, the enactment of law enforcement regarding assimilation policy most likely hinder national identity loss. Qatari society (Islamic customs) prohibits cohabitation, Western culture, to all settlers as a whole and proceeds the consequences of being in jail, even deportation for those who break the law.

In conclusion, the causes of the vanishing traditional festivals and celebration among today’s society may include the rapid technological modernisation and the vast number of global migration. Meanwhile, plausible solutions are considered government’s control on social media and the effective assimilation policies.