Some people advocate death penalty for those who committed violent crimes. Others say that this way of punishment is not accessible in today's world.

Discuss both views and give your opinion

Death penalty has been debatable issue in terms of its morality and fairness for recent years. There are some people who believe that offenders should be sentenced to death for heavy crimes. At the same time, others consider that nowadays death penalty is absolutely wrong. This essay will discuss both sides of this kind of punishment.

On the one hand, the death sentence is thought to be fair for serial murderers, abusers or maniacs. Imprisonment often is not enough for them to change their minds and prevent their future perpetrations. Therefore, some of released offenders committed crimes again. According to research conducted by the Russian Ministry of Healthcare in 2017 about 60 percent of law-breakers became recidivists after getting free from imprisonment. In other words, serious crimes demand serious punishment and sometimes especially dangerous offenders' death is the only way to prevent their doings.

One the other hand, death is an extremely radical statement and can lead to irreparable consequences. That is because there are a lot of examples of judgment's error, when innocent people were arrested and incarcerated but guilty people still were free. Hence, if death penalty is accepted and false criminals are executed nobody would ever fix this error in future when real offenders are found. For example, the Russian Division of Procedural Proceedings in Criminal Cases in 2020 identified that 46 percent of judgments were mistaken. Thus, death penalty is a high risk and should not be allowed.

In conclusion, this essay shed light on problem of capital punishment and its possibility in modern society.