Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters ( such as food, clothes, and entertainment) is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

People’s opinions differ as to whether or not children should make their own decision in every aspect of their life because it could lead to a selfish society. However, I believe that it is necessary for the children to decide matters that having influences on them.

For a variety of reasons, parents should not give their children allowance to choose things such as foodstuff, garments, and entertainment. Firstly, the children could not be aware of their family financial situation which can make them be prodigal with the top trending items that they do not really need. For instance, youngsters are easily charmed by the new clothes wore by celebrities which seem to be improper and expensive, but they still overspend for them. Secondly, making decisions alone since the early ages can develop an anti-social habit. This is partly due to that independent children need less helps from society; therefore, they will consume less time to work and communicate with other people.

In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that the children should have their own choices. It is beneficial for the public as a whole when each individual can deal with their own problems first before asking for help, which can only be achieved by letting the children face with the issues from childhood. As a consequence, it will cost less time and efforts of society, hence boosting the level of productivity. Besides, if the young students use their money effectively to satisfy their daily demand, they will learn not only the way to complete the easiest tasks but also the value of money that may form a habit of frugality.

In conclusion, I believe that children should be granted to give choice about their everyday matters as it plays a critical role in their success in the future.