Some people believe that capital punishment should not be used. Others, however, argue that it should be allowed for the most serious crimes. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is often argued that the death penalty should not be used and alternative types of punishment should be applied to criminals. However, many disagree with this and think that in case of major crimes punishment of death can be allowed. This essay agrees that the punishment should fit the crime. This essay will discuss both points of view.

Regarding contemporary use, most countries, including almost all First World countries, have abolished capital punishment. The governments of these countries, following modern tendency against punishment of death, completely ignore the fact that the punishment should fit the crime. That is to say, the penalty should depend on the type of crime committed and in some particular serious cases capital punishment can be implemented to such perpetrators as murderers, terrorists or rapists. Despite this, the officials continue to abolish the death punishment either in law or in practice, guided by the moral principals toward humanity. The criminals, on the other hand, do not have such attention to their victims, so we should not either. For example, a recent report of crime statistics in Ukraine revealed that many criminals after prison release continued a life of crime.

Despite a trend toward abolishing capital punishment, there are a lot of countries prefer to retain the death penalty in active use. The officials of these countries honestly believe that ones it is shown that major crime will be followed by the strict justice and severe punishment and people would think before they acted illegally. It helps the government to control a life of crime among flow masses, to cut crime and very often even to prevent new one. For instance, a 2020 study found that the countries with the criminal justice system that allows capital punishment had very low level of the most serious crimes, and added that minor crimes such as pick pocketing or shoplifting was the most significant part of the latest crimes.

In conclusion, while many people believe in the human approaches to murderers, terrorists, abusers or rapists and vote against capital punishment, others argue that criminals do not deserve humanism and favor the death penalty as a severe punishment.