Some people believe that the children at secondary school should be streamed, i.e. taught in classes according to ability, rather than being taught in mixed-ability classes. Do you think the advantages of streaming students at secondary schools outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays many streaming classes are being put in an operation in secondary schools across countries around the world. This can lead to many effects on the student’s future and I am an advocate who believes that the merits of the aforementioned idea outweigh the demerits.

Turning to the disadvantageous side of this streaming, one of the biggest cons is that it can cause discrimination in the school environment. Streaming students are more prioritized than students in other classes. This can cause such students to feel unfair due to being treated unequally. As a result, there will be envy, conflicts, offenses between students in schools, or even can have some serious fights. In addition, it is probable that the mindset or actions of students in the future might be formed in the wrong way. For example, once such students are treated unequally, they might be obsessed with that feeling even until they become adults and, therefore; will have misbehaviors when they experience that situation again.

In contrast, I feel that those drawbacks are outweighed by many compelling benefits. Firstly, once those setting classes are operated, students who study in such classes will have a chance to study at their fittest pace. In other words, it is unnecessary for them to study all the things, they merely work out their current level. Hence, they may not be time-wasting on the things they have already known. Secondly, such students may have more opportunities in their education path by being representatives of schools competing in many big either national or international contests. If they can win many awards, their parents, teachers will pride on them.

In conclusion, streaming classes in fact have both positive and negative sides. However, I strongly believe that it is a wise decision to form such classes in many schools.