Some people believe that electronic calculators should not be allowed in school until after the pupils have mastered mental arithmetic. Others believe that calculators save pupils time, especially with complicated calculations. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

It is absolutely necessary to perform a quick calculation in today's world. Some people would argue that the use of an electronic calculator may be avoided until a certain age. But, others feel it may be necessary to perform quick calculations using electronic devices during early school days. In this essay, we will discuss both the advantages and disadvantages of using the electronic calculator.

As technology advances, the education system has introduced a lot of complex scenarios and algorithms to solve and approach a problem. Hence, training and competitiveness are required to survive in today's dynamic world. For example, mathematical problems which were taught at high schools are being taught in primary school these days. As a result, children must be equipped with the necessary tools to perform the task effectively and quickly. With the use of an electronic device, it will help to solve the problems accurately and with precision. Moreover, the time required to solve a problem will be much efficient when compared to manual calculation using the human mind.

Technological devices are subject to upgrade frequently which creates dependency and learning curve often. However, if these devices are not accessible, it will become extremely difficult to solve the problem. However, the dependency on using electronic tools could be avoided at an early stage. Because it will help them to improve their ability to use the mind to calculate simple maths. As a result, it will develop a sense of decision making capability.

To recapitulate, In my personal opinion, it is absolutely necessary to avoid any electronic devices that aid children to perform calculations. We must encourage our children to develop intellectual habits to perform calculations using mind which is a powerful tool at an early age.