Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In contemporary society, a crime now is increasingly serious and hazardous worldwide. Some people believe that governments should give longer prison sentences which is the most solution to cut the rate of crime. However, I argue that having the other solution to this problem.

On the one hand, some people think that giving offender have to live longer in prison sentences that is the best way to decrease the rate of crime because of some reasons. First of all, spending a long time in prison brings some opportunities to rehabilitate prisoners and learning some careers. For example, prison Lindberg, Germany, they allow prisoner choose one of 36 vocational courses such as baking, electrician, painter, garment, carpenter, shoemaking, ventilation repair.... or they will be educated again by police at the prison about morality or the way becomes a better person.

On the other hand, others claim that having plenty of ways to cut the crime. First of all, the local community should encourage poor people who go to school because all the criminals are illiterate. For example, encouraging people to go to school, and when they go out the school, who can find a good job because some companies do not need a high degree from their employees. Moreover, the government should spend a part of financial for homeless home because if they are not enough living conditions, they might think about some bad things.

To sum up, some people argue that the government should give longer prison sentences to decrease the crime rate in the world. However, I think that other measures will be more effective.