Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

In contemporary society, a crime now is increasingly serious and hazardous worldwide. Some people believe that governments should give longer prison sentences for an offender, which is the most solution to cut the crime rate. In my opinion, I argue that having the other solution to this problem.

On the one hand, some people think that giving longer prison sentences which is the best way to decrease the crime rate because of some reasons. First of all, spending a long time in prison brings an opportunity to rehabilitate prisoners, and they learn some careers while they are imprisoned in the prison. For example, prison Lindberg in Germany, they allow prisoner choose one of 36 vocational courses such as baking, electrician, painter, garment.... or they will be educated by police at the prison about morality.

On the other hand, others claim that having plenty of ways to cut the crime. First of all, the local community should encourage poor people who go to school because all the criminals are illiterate. For example, when people have a degree, they can find a good job because some companies do not need a high degree from their employees. Moreover, governments should spend a little money on the homeless home, they might think about some bad things as they live in awful conditions. For example, some young people are a difficult life, they often feel jealousy with other people who have good condition. These people can be enticed to make some bad acts by other offenders.

To sum up, some people argue that the government should give longer prison sentences to decrease the crime rate in the world. However, I think that other measures will be more effective than giving longer prison sentences.