Some people believe that giving longer prison sentences is the best way to reduce crime. Others believe that there are better ways to reduce crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

It is irrefutable that the antisocial activities have been snowballing across the globe. Innumerable issues are being faced by people. Section of society thinks that criminal should be sent to jail for a long time which is the best method to overcome crimes in the cities and countryside while other averse that there are another way to control the against law activities. The following paragraphs will analyze the impact of the reasons and propose a logical conclusion.

To commence, discussing the former viewpoint, the first and foremost one is, offenders cannot plan other misdeed activity due to long term prison punishment. As a ramification, people would feel safe and comfortable outside. Moreover, criminals may be realized their mistakes and they would try to become good citizens of the nation and due to a long time in jail, they will have a fear of physical punishment. For instance, as per the report of TIME magazine that 60% of antisocial people who had been got more than 20 years of prison punishment, the ratio of recidivism was only 5% in Britain

Conversely, discussing the second point, to begin with, the government should start education in the jail by which criminals can acquire knowledge regarding culture, moral values, and ethics of country. As a consequence, they may not become part of the illegal work. Furthermore, the law and enforcement should give chance rehabilitation to criminals who did small crimes. Therefore, the percentage of crime would be dwindling in the nation.

In the final analysis, the reflection exhibited to the above statement leads to firmly assert that the stringent rules and regulations should be made by the authority if they will not act judiciously regarding law and order then citizens will pay for it in the years to come.