Some people believe government should spend money on building train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestion. Others think that building more and wider roads is the better way to reduce traffic congestion. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There are a number of people who think that building more train and subway facilities might decline the traffic jams, whereas other people say that it is better to build more and larger lanes on the road. In my opinion, although these two solutions have merits, I prefer constructing more train and subway lines to reduce traffic congestions because of several reasons.

Train and subway constructions should be spent more money on. First, this could reduce the number of people using private transports on the road. Because of having more seats and space, these two types of transportation could carry more people at the same time than cars and motorbikes. Second, building more trains and subways is easier than rebuilding wider roads. Take an example in Vietnam, where a variety of lanes are rebuilt to be larger, the citizens have to spend more time on the road since part of the road is under construction. Whereas trains and subways are built underground, or in an distinct area, it might be far away from the residential areas.

On the other hand, the money should be invested on having more and wider roads. Firstly, there will be more space for transportations during the traffic jams. With the same number of citizens using the construction, when operating a wider road, the rate of having traffic congestion would be reduced. Secondly, people could have more choices to go in order to prevent the traffic congestions. After having more roads reaching to the same destination, they would find a better way to travel to reduce the chance being stuck in a jam.

In conclusion, I think constructing more train and subway lines is more beneficial than building more roads. Having more streets is just a temporary solution, since this could encourage more citizens to own private transportations, which later cause a traffic congestion again.