Some people believe that it is a good idea to continue to work at their old age. Do you agree or disagree?

Increased employment rates of individuals working past the retirement age in recent decades have been capturing significant public controversy. Given the suggestion that older people should extend their working lives, I agree.

This working trend could bestow many positive implications for society. First, since many economies including developing ones are grappling with aging population and low fertility rates, older workers could offset inadequate workforce in such nations, ensuring the continuing economic growth. The reason is that technological innovations have replaced most physically challenging jobs, which previously could only performed by younger generations, older people could have access to many occupational opportunities without the age limitations, thereby maintaining the economic stability. In addition, companies could capitalize on employees working past the retirement age for the betterment of work productivity and increased profits. Due to retirees’ associations with in-depth occupational expertise after decades of professional contributions to the labour market, such people especially those in executive or managerial positions would use their intellectual resources for the effective and organized operations of a company.

People would benefit from working at the old age. First, workers extending their working lives are linked to better health and longevity. In fact, although working requires extensive brain functioning and physical movements, such factors have been proved to culminate in reduced to a reduced risk of dementia and improved body dexterity. Moreover, working old ages offer additional source of income, especially for older workers with no relatives’ support. By having stable stable savings, old people could afford basic necessities and other personal needs without any concerns about having no financial assistance.

In conclusion, I believe people are supposed to work at their old age. This could lead to many advantages to both society and workers themselves.