Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teachers, whereas others argue that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion

These days, homework is becoming a norm to students in many countries, but people’s opinions are different as whether or not school children should be given homework. Although there are some strong arguments against giving homework, I still believe that it is a necessary aspect of education.

There are several reasons why people might think that homework is a unnecessary burden on children. First, homework does nothing to improve educational outcomes. For example, Countries such as Finland, where school children are not given homework, regularly top international educational league tables and outperform countries where setting homework is normal. Second, many parents would agree that the school day is already long enough, and leaves their children too tired to do further study when they return home. Besides, it is shows that play time is just as beneficial as study time from the perspective of brain development.

In spite of the above arguments, I support the view that homework has an important role to play in the schooling of children. The main purpose of homework is that it encourages independent learning and problem solving, as children are challenged to work through tasks alone and at their own pace. In doing so, students must apply the knowledge that they have learnt in the classroom. For example, by doing mathematics exercises at home, students consolidate their understanding of the concept taught by their teacher at school.

In conclusion, homework certainly has its drawbacks, but I believe that the benefits outweigh them for a long term.