Some students choose to study in another country for a time during high school or university. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of studying abroad?

Recently, study abroad has been a favored choice by parents. While the upsides are various, there are still people who believed that this trend can bring harms to students. This essay will discuss both views.

On the one hand, study in another country has several advantages. First, students can acquire better educational systems from other countries than their native one. This can be especially true to parents who are in developing countries like Vietnam, who want to get an advance learning system for their children. Second, by living apart from their family to study abroad in high school or university, students can develop important personality easily such as independence, responsibility and tolerance toward different people and cultures. Besides, students spending their high school or university overseas can become more successful and have accessibility to better education and position in the future. For example, Guy Fieri, best known for hosting several shows on the Food Network, mentions his time spent studying abroad in Chantilly, France, as having a major impact on his career.

But on the other hand, study overseas can have some disadvantages. Intense financial burden on family is consider as the most significant downside of studying abroad. It can cost a fortune for parents who support their kids in this journey, especially if their destination are the USA and UK. Furthermore, living far from family could make a detrimental impact on students’ psychological and emotional health, which cause by the lack of parents’ care and attention. Besides, lots of solution for training students’ life skills can be thought of instead of study abroad. For instance, parents can encourage teenagers and young adults to take on part-time jobs which they are interested in.

In conclusion, the upsides of studying in another country can outweigh the downsides. By travelling to other countries, student can gain more knowledges and experience with different educational systems throughout the time.