Some people believe that school children should not be given homework by their teacher, whereas other argues that homework plays an important role in the education of children. Discuss both of these views and give your own opinion.

Providing quality education is the foundation of children’s development. It is a golden treasure that nobody can take it away from his/her. A child through education learns basic rules, regulations, norms and values in society. Recently, it becomes an issue in the society whether the teacher should give homework in their students. In my thought, giving teachers an assignment can enhance the continuity of learning and motivation for the student. Consequently, it will lead them less time for recreations and family time.

Some people think that teacher should give extra work at home like homework and school project. During class hours, teachers teach their respective lesson for that day, however, time is not enough to tackle the entire lesson, hence, teacher will give take home task. Some students opt to do it willingly and enjoyable. It will help them to gain more knowledge and skills, also to improve their grades and school performance. Additionally, it will lead to a continue process of learning and will motivate them to study well. My niece after school hours, at home she will do assignment right after her meal. She makes sure to do it before doing other activities like watching tv and playing with friends.

On the other hand, other people believe that giving homework is not useful for the children. Education should only be taught in school. Giving extra workload task to students has a negative impact on their development. Child encourages to have a balance life between study and engaging in recreational activities especially in outdoor sports like basketball and swimming to develop their social skills and communication. Not giving assignment to school children also can have more quality time for family and friends. This is also a way to familiarize in household chores to improve their skills and responsibility at home. During weekends, my niece if she doesn’t have assignment, she’s helping her mother to do household chores such as cleaning and washing the dishes. Aside from this, she spends her free time going to church with family and playing with friends.

In conclusion, education has a major role in children’s future. It helps them to expand the vision and creates awareness. Giving assignment to school children has a good and bad benefit for the students. Teacher should be sensitive in balancing in learning and recreation for their students.