Some people believe that schools should only teach children subjects which are beneficial to their future career and therefore others subjects such as music and sports are not important

To what extend do you agree or disagree

Nowadays, an increasing number of people are concerned about the purpose that school education serves. However, what kind of knowledge and skills schools should mainly provide to offspring is a controversial issue. My view is that career-related knowledge and skills should be mainly focus of educational establishment.

First, it is obvious that for most students, the purpose of receiving school education is to obtain practical knowledge and skills which will enable them to become qualified employees in the future job market. This is because most of them, after graduation, will enter the workplace, earn a living and support their own families. Therefore, it is critical for a school to give top priority to these children’s real needs.

Moreover, focusing on job-related skills can benefit the school itself. For example, the development of artificial intelligence (AI) has marked a milestone in computer science and drawn massive interest in a 4.0 technology. If a school can quickly respond and consolidate teaching resources to offer courses about AI, not only will its students be more competitive in the job market, but the school itself will keep pace with the technological development and move forward.

That is not to say that schools should not pay attention to developing pure other subjects as sports and music. There are, of course, offspring interest in knowledge for its own sake, and they latter become singers, athletics who will make a greater contributions to our society. Yet, job-related skills are more important for most students.

In conclusion, the major function of educational establishment should be providing most pupils with a discipline that relate to their future career, guaranteeing a high rate of employment, and thus making the society function well. Meanwhile, we should not ignore the other important roles schools are undertaking.