Some people believe that schools should only teach children subjects which are beneficial to their future career and therefore others subjects such as music and sports are not important. Agree or disagree?

It is an argument that students should be solely taught academic subjects which directly affect to their future career, the other extra-curricular subjects such as sport and music should be eliminated from the school syllabus. I strongly disagree with this point of view.

On the one hand, not only the academic knowledge but also the physical and mental lessons play an integral role in the holistic development of youngsters. Playing sport allows offspring to build up a good health to ensure for efficient studying and to release their stress which stems from parental and peers. In fact, there are many serious diseases have been reported to be linked with the educational strain and physical inactive among young generation. Additionally, artist subjects such as music and art act as elements to stimulate the youths’ creativity which is necessary for their current student life and even their future path.

On the other hand, although no one can deny that academic subjects are crucial for a professional work in the future, they are not enough for the success. In the modernized and globalized society, young people are required to have set skills out of the academic performance in order to attain an advantageous position in the job-labour market. Therefore, the parent should not expect their children to succeed without the presence of other soft skills which are attained from the non-academic articles. Furthermore, it is worth to mention that there are many sport players, singers or composers who succeed not only because of talented but also professional training.

In conclusion, while other subjects are essential to obtain knowledge, non-academic lessons are vital for the children’s physical and intellectual development, and thus not should be deleted from the school program.