Some people believe that sport has an important role in society. Others, however, think that it is nothing more than a leisure activity for some people.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People have different views whether sport plays a vital role in public. Although it can be argued that it is only a leisure activity for them, I believe that sport is really essential for all ages in society.

A growing body of research suggests that sport has a generally positive effect on people. One key benefit is that there will be a healthy lifestyle when people do exercises. It will be obviously beneficial for all members of society to have a high-quality life if they try their best to play any sports day by day. Taking Finland as an example, their government encourage citizens to do any sports regularly to gain a healthy life for yourself and defend our health's issues such as heart disease, diabetes, cancer,...

However, there are some negative impacts which must be considered. One important issue is that some people who do not have enough knowledge about benefits of sport think that sport only is an entertaining activity. Those are more likely to do other activities instead of playing sports. For instance, according to the Oxford University's survey, these data show that more than 30% out of 500 people who joined the survey do not really understand what sport brings to people's health and more.

In conclusion, most people only think that sport is nothing more than a leisure activity. In my opinion, despite of many issues related to sport, I believe that the benefits of sport bring to people more than those issues surrounding them.