Some people believe that studying at university or college is the best route to a successful career, while others believe that it is better to get a job straight after school. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Opinions are divided on whether studying at university or getting a job straight after school is more significant. Both viewpoints are reasonable, but I personally lean towards studying at university or college.

It is understandable why some people think that getting a job straight after school is the best way to a successful career. By skipping higher education, students could get more experience sooner, which brings them more occupational prospects . For example, Bill Gates, one of the most successful men in the world, dropped out of Harvard University to pursue both his talent and desire in the computer science field.

On the other hand, I think that it is more advantageous to studying at university or college. Firstly, since obtaining a university certificate is an indicator of perseverance, passion and commitment needed to study a degree course for 3 or 4 years, a university degree is a convincing proof of the competence of the applicants. As a result, most employers could be more impressed by candidates who have qualifications, which in turn leads university graduates not only to better job opportunities, but also to higher incomes. Secondly, the job market is becoming increasingly competitive, and sometimes there are hundreds of applicants for one position in a company. Young individuals who do not have qualifications from a university or college may not be able to compete.

In conclusion, while studying at university or college has certain drawbacks, I would contend that its benefits are more glaring.