Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your opinion.

Since the beginning of mankind history crime is an integral part of our society. In the modern world, too Governments around the globe are worried about tackling this problem, and punishments are result of it. Some people believe there must be fixed punishments for each type of crime, while others argue to look into circumstances of an individual crime.

To begin with, people who hold view of fixed punishment put forward multiple reasons for it. First and foremost is this due to increasing crime rate authorities and community members feel insecure, and two deter against it stricter penalties must be given because it will not only make people think twice before committing illegal actions, but will also prevent younger generation especially teenagers not to go on that dark road. Another reason is by giving punishment to the culprit gives justice to the victim and his family as well.

Having said this, it is also thought by some that circumstances must also be taken into consideration before embarking on penalty. For example, a person killing other in self defence does not make him a serial killer. Similarly, stealing bread in time of famine is not seen as theft in some communities. It is therefore essential to look at the situation during which crime was committed to prevent an innocent going to jail.

To conclude, though some holds the view that there must be fixed punishment for every crime, whereas it is frequently believed by some that circumstances must also be looked. In my opinion, it is of extreme importance to look into details of every crime, but also authorities must device a way, so that people will not take advantage of it, and Justice must prevail. In the future also this trend must continue.