Some people believe that tourists should accept social and environmental responsibility while others believe that tourists should not accept any responsibility at all. What is your opinion?

As the population grows and with the help of new technology, more people are tending to travel to other countries as a tourist. While some individuals believe that tourists should be responsible for social and environment of the visiting countries, others dismiss them as they think it is not related to tourists. Admittedly, I am of the opinion that tourists must accept social and environmental responsibility of other countries for a number of compelling reason.

The most rational justification is that tourists are entering to a new culture and new environment. That is, visiting new countries, tourists must accept the host people’s culture and traditions to avoid any conflicts. To put it differently, if tourists did not want to take any social responsibility, it could cause a lot of problems such as cultural conflicts. Take a country as an example where tourists wear a T-shirt which has a special religious drawing, although wearing it may not cause problem in most of the countries, in some countries especially religious countries, it may lead to misunderstanding and cultural conflicts with local people.

Yet another compelling argument is that it could have severe consequences for tourists as they might break a law. That is to say, not being familiar with a law of a certain country, the people who travel to those countries might end up in jail. For example, in some countries like Singapore chewing a gum and throw it into the street is against the law. Therefore, if individuals who visit this country were not to respect the environment of that country, it could have a perennial problem for them such as having a criminal record under their names.

To sum up, to be on a safe side and avoid any severe problems. I strongly support the idea that tourists must accept the social and environmental responsibility of a country. This mainly because, by avoiding the respect to the host country, the serious repercussions would take its toll on the tourists at the first place.