Some people claim that public museums and art galleries are not needed because people can see historical objects and works of art using a computer. Do you agree with this opinion?

People are calling into question the usefulness of having museums. While some advocate the idea that the museums and art galleries are essential for visiting historical objects, others dismiss them as it can be seen on computers. Admittedly, I believe that the elimination of these places would have serious repercussions for the society owing to a number of compelling reasons.

To being with, the most rational justification is that these places are also a place for gathering more information. In other words, there are not only for keeping the historical objects but also a place to get more unique information about art works. That is to say, there are a lot of experts who dedicate their lives learning and studying these works, and by talking to them, ones can gain more knowledge about the artworks. The more people visiting these places and discussing about arts with experts, the more they learn. This in turn would have a far-reaching positive impact on society as individuals are likely to have more respect for artworks and artist as a whole.

Yet another compelling argument against watching these objects and works through computers is the nature of some artworks and historical objects. To put it differently, being unique and special, some artworks and historical objects cannot be seen on the screen. That is, by only seeing it in person, individuals will realize the uniqueness of that piece of work. Take the last supper paint as an example; if people only can see this through the screen, they cannot realize the details of this work or how hard would it be to drawn a piece of art in large format size.

To sum up, considering the points discussed above, the most rational conclusion to be drawn is that the elimination of museums and galleries can easily take its toll on society.