Tobacco is an addictive substance, but people have been using it freely. Some people say tobacco products (such as cigarettes and smoking pipes) should be made illegal.

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

People are calling into question the consumption of tobacco products legally. While some advocate the idea that these products should be announced as illegal products, others dismiss them as they state that it does not solve the issue. Admittedly, I am of the opinion that the declaration of tobacco products as illegal products would not solve the issue for a number of compelling reasons.

The most rational justification is that the smugglers are likely to gain more money by putting tobacco items on the list of illegal items. That is if the government were to announce the tobacco products illegal, the benefits accruing from this action would be towards smugglers. In other words, being addictive to these products, some individuals will try to find it for any cost. Therefore, by following this action, not only are we not solving the problem, but also help the mafia bands gathering more money. The perennial problem takes its toll on people who used these products as they are likely to spend more money on their normal consumption.

Yet another compelling reason is that there are no alternative products available. To put it differently, were we to declare banning tobacco products, no other alternative products would be available for the public to use. Thus, for those individuals who are addicted to cigarettes, there is no choice other than purchase alternatives and much more severe drugs from the black market. That is to say, if we made a product illegal, at least one alternative should be legal so the consumers can use that alternative.

To sum up, by put a red flag on tobacco products and ban them, the problem of using them are not likely to be solved. Therefore, I strongly disagree with the declaration of tobacco products as illegal items as it is bound to have serious repercussions on society.