Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programmes. Do you agree or disagree

It is often believed by some persons that voluntary works such as working for charity, improving the local community and even engaging young children with sporting activities should be mandatory in secondary school curriculum and i completely agree. Doing so will not only improve their moral behavior but will also make them to be hardworking.

Firstly, unpaid community service would promotes good moral behaviour in the preschooler. In other words, youngsters if they are taught in school on how to render selfless services to people and to a large extent within their vicinity, they would grow up with good attitude. For instance, it was published that in the UK high school students are tutored on the importance of rendering community services and they practically carry out the activities by visiting charity home every Friday of the week. Thus, it is evident that if voluntary services are included in school syllabus, it would sharpen the minds of the young.

Secondly, selfless service should be a part of high school courses because it will make the students to be hard working. This is to say that, students who partake in such humanitarian services will combine both the mental aspect of the teaching and the practical implementation of what they were taught in school. As a result, they would work harder in other to achieve the goal of helping others. Some secondary schools in Delta State, have mandated her students to coach nursery school pupils on walking exercise which will help them keep fit.

In conclusion, assisting ones community or working for charity without asking for a fee is a good act and should be inculcated into high school programmes because it would help sharpen the mind and improve their moral standard and also, give them the ability to age with multiple task.