Some people believe that the world is changing for the better. Some argue that things are changing for the worse. Which statement do you agree with?

In recent decades, the world has undergone dreadful changes that drove humanity to the verge of collapse. The fast pace of life has revealed the changes for the worse of human society. From my perspective, I am in favour of the latter statement.

Nature has long been demolished by humankind to satisfy the desire of making profit. It has recently resulted in an alarming environmental degradation, prominently the event of rising sea level. Animals are losing habitats to humans, many of which have died due to starvation. Biodiversity has also been deteriorating with several species living on the brink of extinction. Humanity has prioritized personal interest over the existence of animals living out there in nature, sabotaging the balance of nature which can passively do harm to human beings.

Moreover, 2020 has witnessed a fearful eruption of COVID-19 pandemic with millions of deaths reported. Initially, the governments have not managed to deal with the situation immediately, defying the potential threats of the infectious virus which consequently put the world in commotion. The staggering economy has led to unemployment and the service economy has gone into a tailspin. A massive number of hospitality chains have been forced to close down by virtue of lack of funds and customers. The pandemic has shaken humanity to its foundation and has yet to show any reduction.

Unstable political regimes around the world have also drowned the world with threats, namely the political affairs of the United States of America. The insurrection has striked a critical hit to America, deeply dividing the society with hatred and madness. The event of Joe Biden elected as the 46th President has infuriated Trump’s supporters with chaos and confusion, domestic terrorism has put the USA on the downfall.

To draw a fair conclusion, the world is indeed falling apart with problems existing right in front of our eyes. There is a little chance of reversing the problem unless humanity stands united and be strong.