Some people find history a fascinating subject. Others says it is dull and has no place in modern life.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion

There are two types of people looking history as a subject. The first one, they pressume it interesting as it consists of full stories and has economical impact on tourism. However, the others believe conversely that learning the past is wasting time. I agree with the former idea since it is fascinating subject and it will encourage people to take a good value.

Stories of great people who lived long ago, can lead society into well perceived perspective. Which had brought precious values for community in modern days, and by implementing the lesson people will grow and develop more mature in their behavior or perspective. For example, students in Indonesia in every grade learn about the history of Indonesia’s independence day in 1945, by those stories pupils will love and engage to their country. Therefore, history is necessary to enrich values amongst people.

Historical places also play important role to boost incomes. Numbers of tourists, nowadays, tend to visit the building since it records previous events and exhibit historical objects. Additionally, the site also beneficial for local people, it help them selling souvenir, traditional cloth and miniature of the building. For example, Jogjakarta gains more than half of its income from historical places such as Prambanan Temple, Mataram Palaces and museums. All these positive impacts emerge from awareness of learning history as fascinating subject.

On the other hand, not everyone consider that the subject is important and interesting. In the modern society, young generations tend to involve more in technology as it provides numbers of fun activities on their gadgets. In addition, for some youngsters learn history is hard because it consist of numbers of words to memorize.

In my perspective, the phenomenon of avoiding history is unreasonable. Everyone should put the past events as priority subject because it has brought merits for community. However, people have their own preferences, at the end we should respect their views, in terms such as history.