There seems to be an increasing trend towards assesing students through exams rather than continual assesment. What are the advantages and disadvantages of exams as a form of assesment.

Nowadays periodic exams is increasingly used amongst education insitutions around the world, as a result of shifting assesment from continual test. The examination brings advantages to students in providing a spare time to prepare and prevent negative emotions. However, the test has drawbacks for pupils.

Looking at the positive side, the examination help students to maximize the preparation before the test. Since the exam is accomplished annually, pupils have long period of time to study the materials to be assesed. By implementing this, the individuals have clear target to work forwards in order to understand the subject before final assesment. Additionally, the test is beneficial to control students’ emotion stability such as anxiety and acamedic stress. The reason behind this, the exam will not drive pupils into academic pressure due to a period of exams which taking place annually. Therefore, instead of assesing pupils in daily test, final exams may increase good grades and prevent stress amongst them.

Looking at the negative side, having annual assesment during an academic year brings several disadvantages. Firstly, the absence of daily feedback due to yearly marking test. This may lead to hard in identifying their weaknesses as well as its way of improvement. Secondly, the assesment might decrease students’ motivation as result of academic issues that have not been solved yet. Therefore, either students or teachers should be aware, as the test might drive students negatively. The consequences may damage their grades and interest during study in school.

In conculusion, as mentoring pupils’ academic performance and wellbeing in school is vital. The assesment is the key to answering these concerns.