Some people believe that it is better to live and work in vertical cities. Others, however, think that horizontal cities are better for living and working.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion

It is believed by some people that modernization and increasing numbers of populations are the reason behind a rapid change in housing and workspace amongst Metropolitan cities. These big cities tend to develop the areas either in vertical or horizontal formation. In my perspective, depending on how economic aspect and enviromental issues influence the vast development of the two.

The vertical city, the first type of city, it is usually develope in the area of central business and living space, which provided affordable living cost and comfortable place. These developments bring advantages for companies in terms of cost, the enterprises will not financially suffer since building new working space is expensive. Furthermore, living in the skyward house would be pleasure and comfortable, meaning that people who lives in apartment mostly be saved from natural disaster such as flood or landslide. However, the city also has given birth of environmental risks, such as garbage management, increasing heat temperature and land subsidence.

Moving to another type of cities is the horizontal city, it is usually found in major cities amongst developing countries such as Indonesia. The city is commonplace to live in since providing a large land to build house, property prices tend to much more affordable as compared to skyward housing and also perceived by some people the city is future investment. On the other hand, building horizontal area for working is benefical to enviroment, the cities would be more sustain to enlarge green area, by installing garden space into the fomation. Although, the main problem with these cities include reducing access of clear water and densely populated.

To give my opinion as a summary, I would state that the vertical cities more beneficial for industralization. In contrast, as the horizontal cities as common living space for people in developed country, sounds likely to last very long in investment. I believe vertical city are more convincing to confront a future development.