With the advent of social media, more people are getting their news online instead of from print media. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for people who read news online.

With the development of techonologies many people tend to gain information from online sources instead of printed newspaper. The trend certainly beneficial to society as it is free and feasible. While others pressumed, the online media associates with several risks.

Looking at the positive side, there are two advantages on the advent of social media. To start with, one certain merit is free-purchase, people do not spend their money to buy information. This is resulting in encouraging society to read news without being worried about the bill. Another advantage is that it provides an opportunity to access information everywhere by single device. This is because the society has moved rapidly within minutes, pushing them to gain the information quickly. A good example of this is Instagram and Twitter, these online sources provide worldwide recent topics in just seconds.

Despite the benefits of the social media, there is the main drawback associated with it. Lies and hoax of information alongside with the feasible access. As the social media provides free access, it causes on consuming unclarified news. People will believe the deceive news as the truth, and put the news on their own social media account. For example, in 2019, numbers of unclaried information increased significantly, resulting in unstability of media sources and expanding in hate speech on the comments column.

In conslusion, the development of online media obtains two advantages at once as its free purchase and accessible. Nevertheless, with the rise of social media, a significant increase in hoax information emerge around the onlice sources.